Running goals for the rest of the year

For this week’s Tuesday on the run the girls are revisiting their running goals for 2016. Check out Marcia, Erika and Patty’s check-ins. 

  
I never really set any running goals. I knew I was running the Princess Half and Picie Dust Challenge but they were just for fun and just to do and that was about it. But something happened right before Princess…. I decided I was a runner and I was going to take this running thing more seriously. To me that meant eating to fuel, joing a training group, and adding strength training. 

  
I joined a training group with a local running store to train for our local half marathon which I completed on April 2. I have a love hate relationship with the group. The Scranton Half deserves it’s own post and it’s coming. 

I had to change my relationship with food. I’ve had a bout or 2 of disordered eating and I kind of know what my triggers are so I needed to change the way I think about food. I used to think diet and exercise, but now it’s fuel and train. It’s not so much about losing weight as it is about gaining muscle. And to do that I hired a trainer and he’s great. And he can handle my mini breakdowns. I strength train 3 days a week and run 3-4 days a week. 

The running bug bit me and I am itching to register for more races. I want to do at least a 5k each month and I have my eye on some halfs in the fall. 

  
My goals are broad and unspecific without a time limit really.

Stay injury free.

Get stronger. 

Race more. 

Keep improving. 

Journal to keep track of it all. 

Have fun. 

  

Leave a Reply

